Valid user. So at least I know the address they want me to reply to is valid.
Subject: suggestion
Date: 08/07 11:27 PM
Received: 08/08 8:20 AM
From: Kate, ace@sfsac.com
Reply-To: Catherine Lake, catherine@ctynet.com
To: onlinepublic@large.com
See the spam
My suggestion to this idiot is to stop spamming their horrible contact manager.
Yet another IEMMC. Now they are spamming my MediaCity account. Now I get to
start the "removal" process again.
Let's do a few "whois" look-ups, mainly out of force of habit. This will most likely
be the final entry to this page. Now I get to start a new page.
>whois ctynet.com
42nd Street Productions (CTYNET-DOM)
P.O. Box 161018
San Diego, CA 92176
US
Domain Name: CTYNET.COM
Administrative Contact:
Guido Puchini (GP38-ORG) puchini@CTYNET.COM
619-281-2792
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Gladys Crocker (GC29-ORG) gladys@NANCYNET.COM
415-440-2987
Billing Contact:
Guido Puchini (GP38-ORG) puchini@CTYNET.COM
619-281-2792
Record last updated on 07-Dec-96.
Record created on 07-Dec-96.
Database last updated on 8-Aug-97 04:26:38 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.NANCYNET.COM 205.199.4.3
NS2.NANCYNET.COM 205.199.4.67
And so it begins. See a pattern?
sfsac.com is a bogis domain. No shocker there.
>whois large.com
Consultants at Large (LARGE-DOM)
3890 F S. Atchison Way
Aurora, CO 80014
US
Domain Name: LARGE.COM
Administrative Contact:
Notov, Daniel (DN43) danno@LARGE.COM
(303) 766-2680
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Phillips, Chris (CP3) ckp@RMII.COM
(719) 576-6845
Record last updated on 30-Dec-96.
Record created on 05-May-94.
Database last updated on 8-Aug-97 04:26:38 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.ROCKYMTN.NET 166.93.1.3
NS2.ROCKYMTN.NET 166.93.8.2
Hmm, I've looked up "rockymtn.net" in the past. Let me look up the other listed domain.
>whois RMII.COM
Rocky Mountain Internet (RMII-DOM)
2860 South Circle Drive, Suite 2202
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
USA
Domain Name: RMII.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Dingess, Richard (RD46) rkd@RMI.NET
(719) 576-6845
Record last updated on 05-Jan-97.
Record created on 25-Jun-94.
Database last updated on 8-Aug-97 04:26:38 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.ROCKYMTN.NET 166.93.1.3
NS2.ROCKYMTN.NET 166.93.8.2
Now let's look up the domain. I'll have to check the web site to find a contact address.
>whois sfsace.com
Santa Fe Software (SFSACE-DOM)
16835 W. Bernardo Drive, #209
San Diego, CA 92127
USA
Domain Name: SFSACE.COM
Administrative Contact:
Smart, Rhonda (RS4732) berkley@SFSACE.COM
619-673-5313 (FAX) 619-673-7399
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Adams, Scott (SA389) sadams@COMPUWEB.COM
215-751-0122 (FAX) 215-751-0121
Billing Contact:
Berkley, Bill (BB3505) berkley@SFSACE.COM
619-673-5313 (FAX) 619-673-7399
Record last updated on 27-Jan-97.
Record created on 12-Apr-96.
Database last updated on 8-Aug-97 04:26:38 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
CHELSEA.COMPUWEB.COM 206.233.204.2
HELLSKITCHEN.COMPUWEB.COM 206.233.204.4
Well, I found my contact address, damn spammers.
Sheesh. No break for me. More to look up.
>whois COMPUWEB.COM
Compuweb (COMPUWEB4-DOM)
PO Box 42186
Philadelphia, PA 19101
US
Domain Name: COMPUWEB.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Adams, Scott (SA389) sadams@COMPUWEB.COM
215-751-0122 (FAX) 215-751-0121
Billing Contact:
Adams, Scott (SA389) sadams@COMPUWEB.COM
215-751-0122 (FAX) 215-751-0121
Record last updated on 02-Aug-97.
Record created on 02-Aug-97.
Database last updated on 8-Aug-97 04:26:38 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
CHELSEA.COMPUWEB.COM 206.233.204.2
SEC1.DNS.PSI.NET 38.8.92.2
SEC2.DNS.PSI.NET 38.8.93.2
PSI, the new tolerant nationwide service provider.
All done. Damn spammers.
But wait, there's more!
Subject: suggestion
Date: 08/07 11:27 PM
Received: 08/08 8:07 AM
From: Kate, ace@sfsac.com
Reply-To: Catherine Lake, catherine@ctynet.com
To: onlinepublic@large.com
See the spam
This time my master account for a domain is being spammed. Hold it, that's how the
previous one is too. I think this scammer is targeting MediaCity just out of defiance
to their spam fighting package.
In my early morning rage, I skipped a listed domain. In order to maintain accuracy,
I'll document that one now: gen6.com, which is a bogus domain, so I'll do a DNS lookup:
DNS look-up to: 208.9.77.65 failed.
It does exchange between MCI and Sprint, so I think this is a relatively new address
because my ISP uses OSPF(Open Shortest Path First) to ensure most reliable and fastest
service. It is distinctly possible that this address is valid, but as a static IP
on a dial-up type account. At any rate, it's not online as I type this one up.
So, I go back to IEMMC yet again and have other addresses removed. You know, this crap
is getting old real quick. I also know for a fact that IEMMC is not actually removing
addresses, I think they just move them to another list so the victim can cool off, and
after a week or so, the spam starts again. Keep checking my IEMMC Report
page for the lastest in this ongoing saga of pointlessness.
UPDATE: December 22, 1999
No spam case is ever considered closed around here. Despite this beeing at least 2
years old, I still take the time to update the records. This is being posted intact
with the permission of the author. This shows the negative that spammers intentionally
create to the victim's domain they forge. This will count as an "other".
See the update
Subject: Net Sales & Fraud with Credit Cards
Date: 08/29 9:35 PM
Received: 08/30 9:12 AM
From: 70451580@aol.com
Reply-To: 4profittomorrow@urawinerin1998.net
To: 4profittomorrow@urawinerin1998.net
See this spam
At first I assumed this was so I could be assisted in committing credit card
fraud. Since this is spam, it would not be beyond these people.
No, instead they claim to prevent credit card fraud by charging you WAY too
much per transaction to verify the card. They are running their own rip-off
scam.
Of course, they are using bogus email addresses and covering their tracks.
Don't all respectable businesses do that?
>whois urawinerin1998.net
No match for "URAWINERIN1998.NET".
See? A forged addressed, to prevent flames. That doesn't mean they can't be
caught. That's what headers are for, although CyberPromo does seem to have
the edge in forging headers as well.
This did come from Pacific Bell's internet service, where I've already filed
a complaint. I am also reporting this to my ISP so they can take new measures
to block spam using invalid IP addresses.
Let's check out the web site that is so bogged down that it won't accept connections.
This is most likely from people like me deliberately abusing the service in ways not
explained on this site.
>whois ascella.net
Online Marketers Association (ASCELLA-DOM)
60 Canterbury Court, #701
Orange Park, FL 32065
Domain Name: ASCELLA.NET
Administrative Contact:
Staff (STA8-ORG) webmaster@REGULUS.NET
[No phone]
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Fluorov, Alex (AF1148) af@REGULUS.NET
[No phone]
Billing Contact:
Staff (STA8-ORG) webmaster@REGULUS.NET
[No phone]
Record last updated on 28-Jul-97.
Record created on 11-Feb-97.
Database last updated on 30-Aug-97 04:34:09 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.REGULUS.NET 205.199.4.206
NS2.NANCYNET.COM 205.199.4.67
Aha! NancyNet garbage. I can stop right now.
Subject: Selling on the Net & Credid Card Fraud
Date: 08/30 5:48 PM
Received: 08/30 10:24 PM
From: 33699685@aol.com
Reply-To: profittomorrow@winnerin1998.net
To: profittomorrow@winnerin1998.net
See this spam
Apparently once isn't enough for this bastards. I'll quickly look up their new bogus
domain, out of habit.
>whois winnerin1998.net
No match for "WINNERIN1998.NET".
Gee, no shocker there. Same path through Pacific Bell. This sure saves me a lot of time.
However, I should have reported their phone numbers earlier. Sorry for those of you
who like making operator assisted collect calls to voice your feelings about spam:
904-385-0499, voice
916-847-1052, hey, that is fairly local to me. I think I'll bitch them out tomorrow.
If you are one of the dilweeds who sent me unsolicited email or are someone thinking about it, drop dead.
Also, if you've got a complaint about my anti-spam feelings or want to scold me for being justifiably sick of spam, I have the following words of wisdom for you:
YOU'VE COME TO THE WRONG PLACE!