[an error occurred while processing this directive]

This spam report is at Deadbeats Page 10
I shall start with the web site, since it is supposedly valid.

>whois cyber-pages.net
Hoek Industries (CYBER-PAGES2-DOM)
   P.O. Box 130544
   St Paul, MN 55113-0005
   US

   Domain Name: CYBER-PAGES.NET

   Administrative Contact:
      Jackson, Aaron  (AJ1054)  ajackson@CYBER-PAGES.NET
      (612)646-8174 (FAX) (612)646-8174
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Wallace, Sanford  (SW1708)  domreg@CYBERPROMO.COM
      215-628-9780
   Billing Contact:
      Jackson, Aaron  (AJ1054)  ajackson@CYBER-PAGES.NET
      (612)646-8174 (FAX) (612)646-8174

   Record last updated on 19-Aug-97.
   Record created on 19-Aug-97.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS7.CYBERPROMO.COM           205.199.2.250
   NS9.CYBERPROMO.COM           207.124.161.50
   NS8.CYBERPROMO.COM           207.124.161.65
   NS5.CYBERPROMO.COM           205.199.212.50

Wow, that was quick.

OK, here's one of the forged addresses in the email:

>whois internet.com
[No name] (INTER4-HST)          INTERNET.COM                   198.183.190.115
Mecklermedia Corp. (INTERNET46-DOM)                               INTERNET.COM

Since I'm doing look-ups in sepparate files, I'm no longer concerned with saving
space, si I'll look up both entries.

>whois INTER4-HST
[No name] (INTER4-HST)

   Hostname: INTERNET.COM
   Address: 198.183.190.115
   System: SUN 4/380 running UNIX

   Record last updated on 31-Mar-96.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

>whois INTERNET46-DOM
Mecklermedia Corp. (INTERNET46-DOM)
   20 Ketchum Street
   Westport, CT 06880
   US

   Domain Name: INTERNET.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Hegedus, Peter  (PH535)  hegedus@IWORLD.COM
      (203) 341-2828
   Billing Contact:
      Patelis, Chris  (CP448)  cpatelis@MECKLERMEDIA.COM
      (203) 341-2854

   Record last updated on 07-May-97.
   Record created on 07-May-97.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS.IWORLD.COM                199.35.192.10
   NS.MECKLERMEDIA.COM          199.35.191.5

>whois iworld.com
Mecklermedia's iWORLD (IWORLD-DOM)
   20 Ketchum Street
   Westport, CT 06880
   USA

   Domain Name: IWORLD.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Hegedus, Peter  (PH535)  hegedus@IWORLD.COM
      (203) 341-2828

   Record last updated on 23-Oct-96.
   Record created on 26-Aug-94.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS.IWORLD.COM                199.35.192.10
   NS01.NY.US.IBM.NET           165.87.194.244
   NS.MECKLERMEDIA.COM          199.35.191.5


IBM.Net sure seems involved in a lot of spam. However, this is a DNS issue, not a spam
issue.

>whois MECKLERMEDIA.COM
Mecklermedia's iWORLD (MECKLERMEDIA-DOM)
   20 Ketchum Street
   Westport, CT 06880

   Domain Name: MECKLERMEDIA.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Hegedus, Peter  (PH535)  hegedus@IWORLD.COM
      (203) 341-2828
   Billing Contact:
      Patelis, Chris  (CP448)  cpatelis@MECKLERMEDIA.COM
      (203) 341-2854

   Record last updated on 15-Jan-97.
   Record created on 06-Apr-94.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS.MECKLERMEDIA.COM          199.35.191.5
   NS01.NY.US.IBM.NET           165.87.194.244


This address resolves, possibly pointing the finger at Netcom for providing access:
min-mn12-15.ix.netcom.com [205.186.81.207]

Here is another named domain, most likely to help flame-proof things:
>whois apache.net
Gordon Irlam (APACHE7-DOM)
   2310 Rock Street #10
   Mountain View, CA 94043
   US

   Domain Name: APACHE.NET

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Irlam, Gordon  (GI6)  gordoni@CYGNUS.COM
      415 903-1426
   Billing Contact:
      Irlam, Gordon  (GI6)  gordoni@CYGNUS.COM
      415 903-1426

   Record last updated on 20-Jun-97.
   Record created on 20-Jun-97.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS.NETUSER.COM               198.49.1.2
   DNS.BASE.COM                 199.79.128.1

>whois cygnus.com
[No name] (CYGNUS3)             CYGNUS.COM                      205.180.230.20
Cygnus Support (CYGNUS-DOM)                                         CYGNUS.COM

>whois CYGNUS3
[No name] (CYGNUS3)

   Hostname: CYGNUS.COM
   Address: 205.180.230.20
   System: SUN running UNIX

   Coordinator:
      Rovner, Marc David  (MR456)  mrovner@CYGNUS.COM
      (408) 542-9630 (FAX) (408) 542-9699

   Domain Server

   Record last updated on 20-Aug-97.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

>whois CYGNUS-DOM
Cygnus Support (CYGNUS-DOM)
   1937 Landings Drive
   Mountain View, CA 94043

   Domain Name: CYGNUS.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      Rovner, Marc David  (MR456)  mrovner@CYGNUS.COM
      (408) 542-9630 (FAX) (408) 542-9699
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Grossman, Stu  (SG66)  grossman@CYGNUS.COM
      (408)542-9600 (FAX) (408)542-9774

   Record last updated on 05-Jan-97.
   Record created on 08-Jan-90.
   Database last updated on 6-Sep-97 04:50:17 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   CYGNUS.COM                   205.180.230.20
   TWEEDLEDUMB.CYGNUS.COM       192.80.44.1

All done. This spam goes to IEMMC because I'm supposedly on their remove list.


Preserve your memories. Transfer records, tapes and even recorded wire to CD!