[an error occurred while processing this directive]
This spam report is at Net Tunnel Edition
Received: from rigel (205.230.7.21) by studio42.com with SMTP
(Eudora Internet Mail Server 1.1.2); Tue, 30 Sep 1997 17:42:22 -0700
Received: from sterling by rigel (SMI-8.6/SMI-SVR4)
id RAA04921; Tue, 30 Sep 1997 17:40:42 -0700
Message-ID: <3431993F.3F17@whowhere.com>
Date: Tue, 30 Sep 1997 20:28:47 -0400
From: Rikki Sigmund <rikki@whowhere.com>
Reply-To: rikki@whowhere.com
X-Mailer: Mozilla 3.02 (Win95; I)
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: "Postmater@Studio42" <postmaster@studio42.com>
Subject: Re: Filing a complaint
References: <3.0.32.19970929103253.0070e67c@kaos.atext.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Dear Postmaster,
Thank you for your feedback. WhoWhere? is sorry that you received junk
mail through our MailExcite service. WhoWhere? Inc. has many precautions
in place to prevent the use of our service for mass mailing purposes,
which is a violation of our Usage Agreement. We have deleted the
particular account associated with the junk e-mail for Net Tunnel,
"nettunnel@mailexcite.com"; unfortunately, these offenders can and do
register again under another name. The spam itself did not originate in
MailExcite and has a forged header
In a further effort to deter spamming, we have implemented a feature
that will limit the number of e-mail addresses a person can mail to in
MailExcite to 100 per day and a maximum of 25 e-mail addresses per
message. Hopefully,this will make it more difficult for people to easily
spam in the future.
In addition, we display the originating IP (Internet Protocal) addresses
to ALL messages sent from MailExcite (which you can see if your mail
program allows you to display headers), allowing you to identify the
domain from which the spammer sent the mail (this doesn't necessarily
identify the person who spammed, though). This will help us by giving us
the information we need to block the domain if necessary.
Lastly, we will soon be installing new software to prevent spammers from
relaying off our servers.
WhoWhere? and Excite are genuinely concerned about the misuse of the
Internet and our service by spammers and would appreciate hearing any
suggestions you might have to prevent junk e-mail.
Sincerely,
Rikki Sigmund
Customer Relations
WhoWhere? and MailExcite
http://www.mailexcite.com
http://www.whowhere.com
=========================
Postmater@Studio42 (by way of Jon L. Hance ) wrote:
>
> This spam went to one of the domains I am an administrator for, to an
> account I am responsible for.
>
> MCI: there is clear involvement by MCI via forged addresses.
>
> Excite: I'll bet it would do wonders for your reputations to see what lowly
> spammers can do for you. Please stop this problem as it is already out of
> hand. If Excite takes a stand against spammers, Excite's usage will
> increase as a global "thank you".
>
> Concentric:
> Apparently your domain was chosen to send out this spam, as well as
> originate it. Please take swift action and terminate this user.
>
> Return-Path: <kayhit@mci2000.com>
> Received: from uhura.concentric.net ([206.173.119.93])
> by SantaClara01.pop.internex.net (post.office MTA v1.9.3
> ID# 0-11030) with ESMTP id AAA9958 for <info@lanets.com>;
> Thu, 25 Sep 1997 10:41:50 -0700
> Received: from cliff.concentric.net (cliff [206.173.119.90])
> by uhura.concentric.net (8.8.7/(97/09/12 5.7)) id NAA06933;
> Thu, 25 Sep 1997 13:40:07 -0400 (EDT) [1-800-745-2747 The Concentric Network]
> From: <kayhit@mci2000.com>
> Errors-To: <kayhit@mci2000.com>
> Received: from mci2000.com (ts002d19.det-mi.concentric.net
> [206.173.109.79]) by cliff.concentric.net (8.8.7) id NAA19746; Thu, 25 Sep
> 1997 13:39:34 -0400 (EDT)
> Date: Thu, 25 Sep 1997 13:39:34 -0400 (EDT)
> Message-Id: <199709251739.NAA19746@cliff.concentric.net>
> To: kayhit@mci2000.com
> Subject: Running Out Of Time!!!
>
> *This is a one time mailing and you will never receive mail from this
> NetTunnel 1.0 (Bulk E-Mail just got better!!!).
>
> snipped