[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The report for this spam can be found at: Deadbeats Page 16.
Return-Path: <abuse@mindspring.net>
Received: from batman.mindspring.net (batman.mindspring.net [207.69.192.81])	
by tomcat.ns.net (8.8.5/8.8.5) with ESMTP id PAA01435	for <cpicket@ns.net>; 
Mon, 29 Dec 1997 15:15:10 -0800 (PST)
From: abuse@mindspring.net
Received: from localhost (abuse3@localhost)	by batman.mindspring.net (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id RAA02379;	Mon, 29 Dec 1997 17:11:52 -0500
X-Authentication-Warning: batman.mindspring.net: abuse3 owned process doing -bs
Date: Mon, 29 Dec 1997 17:11:52 -0500 (EST)
X-Sender: abuse3@batman.mindspring.net
Reply-To: abuse3@mindspring.net
To: "$p@m H8er":  ;
Subject: SPAM UPDATE: Was: Directory of Human Resources Executives
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.3.96.971229171037.1682D-100000@batman.mindspring.net>
X-MindSpring-AUP: http://www.mindspring.com/aboutms/policy.html
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
X-UIDL: 88cabf7e262068cd61b05d1284df9ffb

You are receiving this UPDATE in response to a report you may have filed
with <abuse@mindspring.com> or <abuse-email@mindspring.com> concerning: 
[Subject: Directory of Human Resources Executives ]

Due to the large numbers of complaints we received regarding this
incident, your address may have been part of a larger recipient list,
obscured in the ^Bcc:  message header.  This was done to aid in the
delivery process and for the sake of your privacy and that of others who
might have also complained.

UPDATE:
The account responsible had apparently signed up just before the X-Mas
holiday for the sole intent of SPAMMING.  The account was promptly
in-activated upon discovery.

Those of you who did not send us *complete* header information, here is a
URL that you can use to learn more about it.

http://help.mindspring.com/features/emailheaders/extended.htm

Please realize that without the proper, *complete* header information,
there is often little action we can take.  This information helps us
determine the true origin of such SPAM, and will allow us to determine if
a Mindspring customer is actually the cause.  

SAMPLE message copied below for your reference, sanitised for brevity's
sake.

Thanks,
Jeff

About MindSpring and its Policy on Net-Abuse:

MindSpring offers local Internet service in more than 200 locations
throughout the United States, with a dial-up subscriber base of over
250,000 users. MindSpring is also one of the five largest providers of Web
Hosting services in the nation, according to InterNIC.

Additionally, MindSpring is known to have a zero-tolerance attitude
towards unsolicited commercial email, or "Spam" and maintains full-time
staffing to address TOS/Abuse addresses. 

>From the company's beginning, MindSpring's Appropriate Use Policy has
prohibited against unsolicited commercial email (UCE, "spam").  For
well-over a year, our production servers have been successfully configured
to reject third-party relays from networks outside of our extended
net-base.  Finally, in response to our own customer complaints, we are
blocking some 4000+ known spam networks and email addresses, all of which
are publicly listed at

http://www.mindspring.com/cgi-bin/spamlist.pl

In the future, should you have net-abuse issues regarding a MindSpring
dialup account or hosted domain, please contact <abuse@mindspring.net>
directly know so that we might investigate the matter in a timely and
appropriate fashion. For a full disclosure of MindSpring's Appropriate Use
Policy, please see: 

http://www.mindspring.com/aboutms/policy.html

Jeff Pabian		Terms Of Service/Abuse Engineer
Mindspring Enterprises, Inc.	abuse@mindspring.net
http://www.mindspring.com/aboutms/policy.html
404.815.0770	800.719.4664

_____Begin Enclosed_____
>Return-Path: <ireport@mindspring.com>
>Received: from camel8.mindspring.com (camel8.mindspring.com [207.69.200.58])
>	by ixmail4.ix.netcom.com (8.8.7-s-4/8.8.7/(NETCOM v1.01)) with ESMTP id
OAA20464; ;
>	Thu, 25 Dec 1997 14:10:28 -0800 (PST)
>From: ireport@mindspring.com
>Received: from user900.meznet2.net (Pool-207-205-187-177.clev.grid.net
[207.205.187.177])
>	by camel8.mindspring.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id RAA12932;
>	Thu, 25 Dec 1997 17:09:40 -0500 (EST)
>Message-Id: <199712252209.RAA12932@camel8.mindspring.com>
>Subject: Directory of Human Resources Executives   
>Reply-To: ireport@mindspring.com
>Date: Fri, 11 Sep 97 22:24:52 EST
>
>                                                              
<SNIP>                                                                    
>