The Deadbeats Hall of Lame
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Return-Path: <apache@web001.mediacity.com> Delivered-To: cpickett@mediacity.com Received: (qmail 23655 invoked from network); 27 Sep 1999 04:37:50 -0000 Received: from web001.mediacity.com (205.216.172.2) by mail001.mediacity.com with SMTP; 27 Sep 1999 04:37:50 -0000 Received: (from apache@localhost) by web001.mediacity.com (8.8.8/8.8.8) id VAA27838 for cpickett@mediacity.com; Sun, 26 Sep 1999 21:37:50 -0700 (PDT) (envelope-from apache) Date: Sun, 26 Sep 1999 21:37:50 -0700 (PDT) Message-Id: <199909270437.VAA27838@web001.mediacity.com> Reply-to: jfdill@jfdill.suite.net (Jonathan F. Dill) From: jfdill@jfdill.suite.net (Jonathan F. Dill) Subject: Entry to the Anti-Spam Guestbook You have a new entry in your guestbook: # Entered from mystery.carb.nist.gov (129.6.113.182) with HTTP/1.0. ------------------------------------------------------ Just checked out your page on BENCHMARK--Any more updates? I think this bastard is getting lazy--I have a dialup IP that was apparently used to connect directly to a promiscuous relay: p24.amax6.dialup.atl1.flash.net (209.30.102.24) I can get access to the promiscuous relay to see what other info I can dredge up. I plan to contact flash.net but anticipate a lame response. I think I'll keep an eye on flash.net-- maybe I'll ban a subset of those addresses if I find a pattern. BTW for the benefit of all reading your guestbook: Beware of computer supply scams (of which I would be shocked to find out that BENCHMARK is not)! Some high-energy dweeb will call saying that he/she is sending you some promotional item(s) (such as a baseball cap) and/or "samples" of the product such as toner cartridges or cleaning supplies, and he/she "just need to confirm your shipping address." Oh really, so these are FREE samples then? Of course not! I had one scam that wanted to send me a FULL CASE of $65 toner cartridges at a cost of $90 each (they were supposed to "last longer" and "print darker and sharper") not to mention that they were probably remanufactured and worth about $35. I tell them not to send me anything, and that if they do, I will consider it a "gift" as is my legal right, because I did not order it--check out the FTC web pages on office supply scams at the URL below. If necessary, a letter from your State Attorney General's Office should brighten! their day (easy to get if you work for the state, as I do). If you tell him/her that you're not interested, he/she may insist, "Well, then tell me who's in charge of making the decisions for buying X?" My (cleaned up) answer, "I'm in charge of making the decisions about buying X and I don't have time for this <click>!" Don't give him/her any other names, because then he/she will call those people and try the same, or worse, tell them that you aren't doing your job because you're wasting your company's money by not trying out their product. This is partly based on personal experience with these slugs, and partly based on the experiences of other people I know who have dealt with them. Check out FTC's informative web page on Office Supply Scams http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/buspubs/supplies.htm --jonathan Jonathan F. Dill <jfdill@jfdill.suite.net> - Sunday, September 26, 1999 at 21:37:49 (PDT) ------------------------------------------------------ Site Administrator's Note: Great rant, good advice, but that's not what the guestbook is for. Take it to the web board! [an error occurred while processing this directive] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||