Return to Attack 4 Page
Return-Path: <studio42@persipina.host4u.net>
Received: from amethyst.nstc.com (207.166.203.193) by studio42.com with
ESMTP (Eudora Internet Mail Server 3.0) for <webmaster@studio42.com>;
Tue, 4 Jun 2002 22:11:49 +0100
Received: from persipina.host4u.net (persipina.host4u.net [216.71.64.59])
by amethyst.nstc.com (8.11.0/8.11.0) with ESMTP id f5559cF05433 for
<webmaster@studio42.com>; Tue, 5 Jun 2001 01:09:38 -0400
Received: (from studio42@localhost) by persipina.host4u.net (8.8.5/8.8.5)
id XAA11606 for webmaster@studio42.com; Mon, 4 Jun 2001 23:57:15 -0500
Date: Mon, 4 Jun 2001 23:57:15 -0500
Message-Id: <200106050457.XAA11606@persipina.host4u.net>
From: spam-hater@studio42.com
To: webmaster@studio42.com
Subject: WWWBoard Message 1376
Reply-To:
#
# Entered from aca743c5.ipt.aol.com (172.167.67.197) with HTTP/1.1.
#
u posted the following article in the Anti-Spam Web Board
Dated : June 04, 2001 at 23:57:15
Subject: Re: Thanks for the info and #s
: : want to thank you all for giving me usefull info for spam killing
: : ever once in a while i reek some havoc on these people
: : when i have a bit of time
: : just to help piss them off a bit
: : so although we dont all WRITE & POST
: : i am still using the REAL info to clog a few boxes and such
: : so keep trying
ddress. I will assume you visited a site to get product information, so you
either needed more or could not find it, so you did the logical thing.
: Done assuming.
: A confirmation email should be two things at the same time. One thing it
should do is be sent nearly immediately, up to 15 minutes. It does not have to
include the originating IP address, but it is a good idea. It should send you a
cookie or some code that you must RETURN to confirm that you got it. The code
can be either a word, but typically a small jumble of letters and numbers,
typically 8, but could be more. You must RETURN that string to them via their
instructions, be it in the subject or in the body. Their confirmation email
should explain how their system works. Once done, this is known as a confirmed
opt-in list, which is too much effort for a spammer to make.
: BUT, is this a spammer? Here at Studio42, we have flat out outlawed mailing lists
period. But that is Studio42 policy, not the rest of the universe. I am tempted to
say to you to go ahead and go after this. If they are going to send you extra garbage,
there should be a method of opting out BEFORE you submit, or at least one after the
fact. After the fact is totally unacceptable in my opinion.
: I will relay my story about KB Toys. I bought some Star Wars items from them. I am a
big Star Wars fan, I collect the 12" items. But I digress on that. The facts that
pertain here are as follows: I bought something online and all went well, I received my
item, I was very happy. No problemns. They emailed me an order confirmation and
instructions to track my order. Most excellent. Later on they decided to shut down KBToys
online and turn it into KBKids. Fine, whatever. Dumb move, but hey, it's their marketing
idiocy. They decided to start sending promotional email about the new site. Not just one(which
was spam), but many others. I had to complain WAY the hell up the corporate ladder to get results.
: Based on the type of email you are getting, it is no-sequiter to what you original signed on
for. Yes, it is spam, and yes, go to their ISP and have them either shut down or rehabilitated.
: : Best Regards
: : Axel Nordin
If you are one of the dilweeds who sent me unsolicited email or are someone thinking about it, drop dead.
Also, if you've got a complaint about my anti-spam feelings or want to scold me for being justifiably sick of spam, I have the following words of wisdom for you:
BLOW IT OUT YOUR ASS!
Anyone else, I'd like to hear from you. Click below and drop me a line.
Anti-Spam Site administrator
|