This spam report is at Anti-Spam Assistance Pages
Return-Path: <scooty2@webkorner.com>
Received: from mail.webkorner.com (caesar.webkorner.com [207.53.76.15])
by tomcat.ns.net (8.8.5/8.8.5) with ESMTP id KAA03548 for <cpicket@ns.net>;
Sat, 27 Jun 1998 10:01:15 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail.webkorner.com from localhost
(router,SLMail V3.0); Sat, 27 Jun 1998 13:02:13 -0400
Received: by mail.webkorner.com from P38-max1-clt.webkorner.com [207.53.76.57]
(SLmail 3.0.2421 ()); Sat, 27 Jun 1998 13:02:12 -0400
Received: by P38-max1-clt.webkorner.com with Microsoft Mail id
<01BDA1CB.679FC980@P38-max1-clt.webkorner.com>; Sat, 27 Jun 1998 12:59:22 -0400
Message-ID: <01BDA1CB.679FC980@P38-max1-clt.webkorner.com>
From: "Scott Huffman" <scooty2@webkorner.com>
To: "'Chris Pickett'" <cpicket@ns.net>
Subject: RE: Spam complaints
Date: Sat, 27 Jun 1998 12:59:21 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-MIME-Autoconverted: from quoted-printable to 8bit by tomcat.ns.net id KAA03548
X-UIDL: 3bbf9210d383af1d1d4748f1796510d0
Well I must admit, you've help me to see a little more clearly.
You're right. We need proof that Calvin Enterprises is the real spammer. How do you
persuade a mail-relaying, like the Sweden server, to give over the logs? How else can
we get the proof against Calvin Enterprises? You and I both know their the ones...just
need the proof. Again you're right.
I need to be smarter.
Thanks,
Scott Huffman
----------
From: Chris Pickett[SMTP:cpicket@ns.net]
Sent: Saturday, June 27, 1998 1:47 PM
To: Scott Huffman
Subject: RE: Spam complaints
On 6/26/98 23:49, Scott Huffman sent the following ASCII stream:
>Why want you complain about Calvin Enterprises? They are the one's
>harvesting e-mail address, forging headers, hijacking mail-servers and
>sending Spam? I want to combat SPAM just as much as you do and I don't
>need the money that badly.
Simple. I have this thing called the Attorney General who is assisting
me. I have been instructed to NOT persue any spammer unless they spam me
directly, which Calvin Enterprises has not actually done, or at least
they keep hijacking ill-configured servers that don't show originating
addresses.
If I were to complain, I would be doing so via your word of
mouth(hearsay), which is not valid in a court of law. Also, Calvin
Enterprises could currently SUE you for whatever they want for this
slander. Why slander? We'll, they like to use third-party servers that
don't show originating IP addresses, therefore there is no proof behind
your argument. Unless one of these third-party servers checks their logs
and tells me where it originated, I have strict instructs to not do
anything further. When I get confirmation from a third-party server, then
I'll take action, and at that point any lawsuit brought about by Calvin
Enterprises will be nullified.
You have to think one step ahead of spammers. As we know, they only want
money and are not concerned how to get it. I have to be extremely above
board.
* Chris Pickett, the amazing man with no life. Owner of Studio42 *
|Commercial and/or unsolicited email and/or spam will be processed for|
| a $500 handling fee. Unsolicited sending constitutes acceptance. |
[>>>--------> Studio42 web site: http://www.studio42.com <--------<<<]