[an error occurred while processing this directive]
This spam report is at Anti-Spam Assistance Pages
Subject: Re: Spam complaints
Date: 6/27/98 00:00
To: Scott Huffman, scooty2@webkorner.com
On 6/26/98 21:44, Scott Huffman sent the following ASCII stream:
>Hello,
>
>I'm Scott Huffman. I'm the one that has received all the complaints
>regarding the Spam you have received. I have completed my investigation
>and wanted to share the results of my work.
>
As you showed us, and corrected, your initial work was flawed. I do respect your
honesty and posting the correction. However, if you were sending this to a spammer,
they would love the list you've provided to them of harvestable addresses.
>WebKorner.Com does not support SPAMMERS or condone their unethical
>activities on the Internet. It is against our Acceptable Use Policy to
>send Spam from our network. Use Spam to point to a website hosted by
>WebKorner.
>
Then, consistent with your AUP, the site spam-vertized must be removed permanently
from your network. Discussion over.
>WebKorner.Com is committed to fighting Junk E-mail and the people who fill
>our mail boxes with this junk. Please help WebKorner fight the SPAMMERS.
>
Please have WebKorner help themselves. Enforce your AUP and terminate the site. Period.
>I've disable my customers website for the spamming incident. However,
>disabling my customers website is not going to stop the Spam that you and
>I are continually receiving. My customer informed me, he contacted a
>company that would help promote his website. That company has a website
>located at www.calvinenterprises.com or Calvin Enterprises, Inc.
>
Your customer has used this prepared lie to buy them time while they shop elsewhere. You
bought into it 100%. If this customer of yours was looking to do spamming, they are going
to do it again in the future. Disabling and terminating this customer's site sends a
STRONG anti-spam message. Sure,it may not stop the spam problem, but it stops that spammer.
>After talking with my customer, he told me he found this website through
>Internet search engines. He called the folks at www.calvinenterprises.com
>and indicated he was interested in a "subscribed mailing list" to promote
>his website. He was assured that the list he was using, to send
>information about his website, was an opt in list. People wanted to be on
>the mailing list. Based on this information, my customer purchased
>www.calvinenterprises.com services.
>
Again, this is part of a prepared lie that spammers give to their "customers" so they can
maintain their web presence for future spamming runs.
>My customer believed he was working with a professional company. But as
>all of you are aware that's not the case. Based on this information, I
>will reactivate my customers website in 5-10 days. I believe my customer
>had no idea what kind of trouble he was able to cause for all us. Again,
>my customer is not the root of the problem, Calvin Enterprises, Inc is to
>blame.
>
Again, part of a prepared lie. This is NOT a newbie, this is a professional con artist you
are dealing with. I will complain again when this web site is active again. I can not and
will not complain about Calvin Enterprises, despite me already knowing about their pro-spam
stance. When THEY spam me and list either an IP address, web site or other identifier, I
will complain.
>The folks at www.cavlinenterprises.com do not care about Net Etiquette.
>They are only concerned about taking advantage of people who don't know
>how to promote their website on the Internet. They only care about making
>money and causing problems for ISP's and Internet users. They have 10
>computers working 24 hours a day sending Spam. That's a few million
>e-mail's a day, taking up valuable resources you and I pay for to use for
>more productive reasons.
>
I've written essays on the topic, and even done economic impact studies for major ISP's on
this, despite me just being a technician. I guess I just understand those bits on the wire
all too well.
>I've complained to the ISP providing services to
>www.calvinenterprises.com, but as you'll see the site is still up and
>running and sending more SPAM to you and I. Please help put this company
>out of business. Here's all the information I've collected.
>
>Registrant:
>Calvin Enterprises, Inc. (CALVINENTERPRISES-DOM)
>3200 Brookview Dr.
>Burnsville, MN 55337
>Domain Name: CALVINENTERPRISES.COM
>Administrative Contact: Calvin, Jeremie (JC11565) jeremie@MN.USWEST.NET
>612-894-5781
>Technical Contact, Zone Contact: Babaian, Patrick (PB2180)
>patrick@HSPRO.NET 818-843-7478
>Billing Contact: Calvin, Jeremie (JC11565) jeremie@MN.USWEST.NET
>612-894-5781
>NS.NEWACCOUNT.COM 207.33.41.10
>NS2.NEWACCOUNT.COM 207.213.164.90
>
>Internet Connection is provided by "packbell.net."
>
You mean "pacbell.net".
>Please send complaints to abuse@packbell.net to shut their connection off.
> I've complained to Packbell, but have not gotten any results. Right now
>other people on the Internet are receiving SPAM from Calvin Enterprises, Inc.
>
Send complaints to:
policy@pbi.net
DESPITE your udpdate, Nevada Bell gets their service from Pacific Bell. Direct complaints
to the same email address.
>I ask you this, if www.calvinenterprises.com is practicing ethical
>business practices. Then why are they forging mail headers, hijacking
>mail servers, sending unsolicited e-mail to mailing lists and are sending
>Spam to you and I.
No comment, especially since you are going to allow this customer of yours to continue service,
despite AUP violations.
>Again, help shut these SPAMMERS down. Forward this message to your
>friends on the Internet. The only way that SPAM will become a thing of
>the past, is if we all complain and fight SPAM together.
Wait, that would be SPAMMING. Sorry, I can't go along with that. I have posted this to my anti-spam site on my domain.
http://www.studio42.com/kill-the-spam/
>
>If anyone has any questions please drop me an e-mail.
>
Yes:
Why are you buying this customer's lies? Do you need the money that badly?
If history has shown us anything, it's that spammers do not learn from their mistakes.
Ignore Sanford Wallace, he is seeking to profit from spamming from the other site, while
at the same time enabling other spammers as long as they don't mention him, thus keeping
him employed as he mock-battles them. It's a total scam.
>Thanks,
>
>Scott Huffman
>scooty2@webkorner.com
>
I believe you have the best of intentions, but your methodology is horrible.
My spam load for this month is at a record high since I started actively tracking spam.