Anti-Spam The Deadbeats Hall of Lame
Warning: Not all menu items are working. We're working on this but this site is a low-priority project.
Do you want concert quality sound at tremendous savings? Studio42, your leader on high quality sound for concerts!

This spam report is at Anti-Spam Assistance Pages
Subject:     Re: Fwd: Returned mail: User unknown
Date:        1/13/98 7:20 PM
To:          Jae Jae, jae@hotmail.com

OK, you've prevented me with quite a challenge.

On 1/13/98 3:25 PM, Jae Jae sent the following ASCII stream:

USELESS AOL HEADERS OMITTED.

Well, they aren't useless, it does show the message did in fact come from AOL and 
was addressed specifically to you.

>>
>>The original message was received at Mon, 5 Jan 1998 20:00:25 -0500 
>(EST)
>>from everest.pr.Sun.COM [210.138.200.3]

Hmm, seems that this is where the spam perhaps originated from, maybe relayed from. 
I would NOT expect this behavior from SUN. Let me see...
>nslookup 210.138.200.3
Server:  dns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    everest.pr.Sun.COM
Address:  210.138.200.3

Interesting. AOL resolved the IP address.

>>    NOTE:  we cannot and will not divulge private information about
>>members.  Please only use the search resource if you believe that you
>>may have misspelled a member's e-mail address.
>>
>>	-AOL Postmaster
>>
>>   ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----

>>
>>Return-Path: <jae@hotmail.com>
>>Received: from everest.pr.Sun.COM (everest.pr.Sun.COM [210.138.200.3])
>>	  by relay31.mail.aol.com (8.8.5/8.8.5/AOL-4.0.0)
>>	  with SMTP id UAA13236;
>>	  Mon, 5 Jan 1998 20:00:25 -0500 (EST)

OK, I just resolved that one.

>>From: jae@hotmail.com
>>Received: from news.sun.co.jp (news.sun.co.jp [202.32.138.61]) by 

The name just doesn't make sense. You would expect this to be usenet.
>nslookup 202.32.138.61
Server:  dns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    news.sun.co.jp
Address:  202.32.138.61

Wow, it resolves, showing the ORIGINATING server. Somehow I just don't expect the 
folks in Japan to really be into spamming, especially since they don't as many PC's 
over there.

It could be some dolt telneting to that machine and issuing raw SMTP commands and 
forging a DNS entry. I don't know how to use this, but this could be a very efficient 
way of getting around a LOT of stuff. I practice occasionaly on my OWN mail server to 
test accounts on my mail server.

>everest=
>>.pr.Sun.COM (SMI-8.6/mail.byaddr) with SMTP id KAA11257; Tue, 6 Jan 
>1998 =
>>10:00:10 +0900
>>Received: from badboys (user12179.theonramp.net) by news.sun.co.jp 

I have a feeling this is the forged HELO entry "badboys", which was resolved to:
user12179.theonramp.net
which resolves to:
>nslookup user12179.theonramp.net
Server:  dns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    user12179.theonramp.net
Address:  208.136.12.179

Hmm, I think I've found the point of origination, but this could be forged. 

>(5.x/S=
>>MI-SVR4)
>>	id AA15703; Tue, 6 Jan 1998 10:05:27 +0900
>>Date: Tue, 6 Jan 1998 10:05:17 +0900
>>Errors-To: robinhood@hotmail.com

Yeah right.

>>To: jae@hotmail.com

Oh, there you are!

>>Comments: Authenticated sender is <jae@hotmail.com>

Not from my point of view it ain't.

>>Errors-To: robinhood@hotmail.com

How kind, abuse two accounts at once.

>>Subject: Do you love golf?

No, I hate golf.

>>Message-Id: <199801053107EAA15667@post.sun.co.jp>
>>MIME-Version: 1.0
>>Content-Type: text/plain; charset=3Dunknown-8bit
>>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
>>

SNIP of some lamer golf spam.

>>u for your time. =20
>></P><P ALIGN=3DLEFT>
>>Best Reguards,
>>B.Apple=20
>>
>>PS: Call 1-414-835-3142 now for  the  two minute overview and to 

Well, we have the NUMBER of the people who are supporting this spam.

>receive =
>>your free comprehensive information package. =20
>>
>></FONT><FONT  COLOR=3D"#ff0000" SIZE=3D2>
>>TO BE  REMOVED TYPE REMOVE IN SUBJECT AND REPLY TO sowell@bizzy.net
>></FONT><FONT  COLOR=3D"#000000" SIZE=3D3>
>><FONT  COLOR=3D"#000000" SIZE=3D3></B>
>></PRE></HTML>
>>e=BD=02a

Hmm, we have ANOTHER account that appears to be responsible:

>whois bizzy.net
Triple Invest (BIZZY2-DOM)
   2234 Main Street
   Henderson, NV 90872
   US

   Domain Name: BIZZY.NET

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Wheeler, David  (DW5035)  ti@BIZZY.NET
      913-342-8345
   Billing Contact:
      Wheeler, David  (DW5035)  ti@BIZZY.NET
      913-342-8345

   Record last updated on 06-Oct-97.
   Record created on 06-Oct-97.
   Database last updated on 13-Jan-98 04:06:07 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS1.ICSINC.NET               151.201.64.7
   WWW.ICSINC.NET               151.201.64.2
   MAIL.ICSINC.NET              151.201.64.8

I'm sure those folks would love to hear how their service is being abused.