The report for this spam can be found at: Raul Mendez Edition.
Return-Path: <promo124@hotmail.com>
Delivered-To: cpickett@mediacity.com
Received: (qmail 962 invoked from network); 6 Dec 1998 08:49:24 -0000
Received: from host101.a-272.99.66.209.in-addr.arpa (HELO altern.org) (209.66.99.101)
by mail001.mediacity.com with SMTP; 6 Dec 1998 08:49:24 -0000
Received: (qmail 31939 invoked by alias); 6 Dec 1998 06:11:29 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO fdgdfg) (209.154.66.112)
by host096.a-272.99.66.209.in-addr.arpa with SMTP; 6 Dec 1998 06:11:29 -0000
To: promo127@hotmail.com
Bcc: cpi@citation.com, cpi@world.std.com, cpic338@ms8.hinet.net,
cpickard@interaccess.com, cpicket@ns.net, cpicket@tomcat.ns.net,
cpickett2@juno.com, cpickett@mediacity.com, cpickles@iosphere.net,
cpickles@mrburns.iosphere.net, cpiedmonte@ecs.com, cpierce1@cp500.pto.ford.com,
cpierce1@ed7590.pto.ford.com, cpierce1@ford.com, cpierce@1stnet.com,
cpierce@mica.net, cpierson@ivnet.com, cpierson@sunspot.tiac.net,
cpierson@tiac.net, cpigeon@accent.net, cpike@charleston.net,
cpinmd@ix.netcom.com, cpinternational@dial.pipex.com
From: <promo124@hotmail.com>
Subject: Frequent Asked Questions Re: $9.99 to build your own
content-length: 3838
I'm not going to repeat my work. Here it is again since the headers are essentially the
same:
>nslookup 209.66.99.101
Server: ns.mediacity.com
Address: 205.216.172.10
Name: host101.a-272.99.66.209.in-addr.arpa
Address: 209.66.99.101
I'm confused. This appears to be the spammer.
>nslookup altern.org
Server: ns.mediacity.com
Address: 205.216.172.10
Name: altern.org
Address: 209.66.99.96
Yet the address doesn't properly resolve.... Of course, it does state that it may be forged.
Further investigating is warranted:
>traceroute 209.66.99.101
traceroute to 209.66.99.101 (209.66.99.101), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 grfge002 (205.216.172.1) 0.539 ms 0.383 ms 0.347 ms
2 bordercore2-hssi0-0-0.SanFrancisco.cw.net (166.48.15.249) 2.531 ms 2.456 ms 2.485 ms
3 core10.SanFrancisco.cw.net (204.70.9.45) 2.759 ms 2.635 ms 2.648 ms
4 mae-west6-nap.SanFrancisco.cw.net (204.70.10.238) 4.481 ms 4.118 ms 3.792 ms
5 mae-west.above.net (198.32.136.31) 5.999 ms 6.003 ms *
6 core2-mae-west-oc3.sjc.above.net (207.126.96.105) 24.468 ms 12.280 ms 13.904 ms
7 * core2-mae-west-oc3.sjc.above.net (207.126.96.105) 13.745 ms !H *
8 core2-mae-west-oc3.sjc.above.net (207.126.96.105) 24.575 ms !H * *
9 core2-mae-west-oc3.sjc.above.net (207.126.96.105) 23.505 ms !H * *
The host is being protected.
>whois -h whois.arin.net 209.66.99.0
Abovenet Communications, Inc. (NETBLK-NETBLK-ABOVENET2)
Suite 1010, 50 W San Fernando,
San Jose, CA 95113
US
Netname: NETBLK-ABOVENET2
Netblock: 209.66.64.0 - 209.66.127.255
Maintainer: ABVE
Coordinator:
NOC (NOC41-ORG-ARIN) noc@ABOVE.NET
408-367-6666
Fax- 408-367-6688
Domain System inverse mapping provided by:
NS.ABOVE.NET 207.126.96.162
NS3.ABOVE.NET 207.126.105.146
ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
Record last updated on 11-Sep-98.
Database last updated on 4-Dec-98 16:11:20 EDT.
OK, spammer located.