Anti-Spam The Deadbeats Hall of Lame
Warning: Not all menu items are working. We're working on this but this site is a low-priority project.
Want custom DVD slideshows with music?

The report for this spam can be found at: 1998 Deadbeats Page 12.
Return-Path: <carolanne12@ibm.com>
Received: from advanstar.com ([204.220.140.35])
          by santaclara01.pop.internex.net (Post.Office MTA v3.1.2
          release (PO203-101c) ID# 0-34792U7500L7500S0) with ESMTP
          id AAA7930 for <chris@lanets.com>;
          Sat, 25 Jul 1998 05:30:36 -0700
Received: from gateway.advanstar.com ([204.189.161.37]) by gateway.advanstar.com 
with SMTP id <27471>; Sat, 25 Jul 1998 06:21:44 -0500
Date: Sat, 25 Jul 1998 03:12:10 -0500
From: carolanne12@ibm.com
To: newnewz@newzdomain.com
Subject: Just A Reminder!!
Message-ID: <9807241426.AA01369@kickory.eye.com>
Reply-To: carolanne12@ibm.com
X-UIDL: 46k87d34n74z12j09f63e33n76a23j88d
Comments: Authenticated sender is <carolanne12@ibm.com>

>nslookup 204.220.140.35
Server:  ns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    gateway.advanstar.com
Address:  204.220.140.35
>nslookup advanstar.com
Server:  ns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    advanstar.com
Address:  204.220.140.35
Relaying server located.

>nslookup 204.189.161.37
Server:  ns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    usr1-dialup37.Atlanta.mci.net
Address:  204.189.161.37
Despite the forgery, the spammer has been located.

Now onto the address harvesting site:

>nslookup www.stopMySpam.com
Server:  ns.mediacity.com
Address:  205.216.172.10

Name:    stopmyspam.com
Address:  209.52.184.164
Aliases:  www.stopMySpam.com

>traceroute www.stopMySpam.com
traceroute to stopmyspam.com (209.52.184.164), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1  grfge002 (205.216.172.1)  0.367 ms  0.304 ms  0.293 ms
 2  bordercore2-hssi0-0-0.SanFrancisco.mci.net (166.48.15.249)  2.795 ms  2.275ms  2.281 ms
 3  core1.SanFrancisco.mci.net (204.70.4.169)  3.525 ms  3.801 ms  3.656 ms
 4  border2-fddi-0.SanFrancisco.mci.net (204.70.3.162)  128.621 ms  192.966 ms8.055 ms
 5  bc-tel.SanFrancisco.mci.net (204.70.33.14)  98.086 ms  67.468 ms  24.191 ms
 6  reg4-2.bctel.net (204.174.67.53)  21.651 ms  21.710 ms  21.587 ms
 7  207.194.239.97 (207.194.239.97)  25.413 ms  25.779 ms  25.365 ms
 8  209.52.184.164 (209.52.184.164)  26.748 ms  29.383 ms  26.666 ms

>whois stopmyspam.com

Registrant:
IDSI Online (STOPMYSPAM-DOM)
   14560 SW Chesterfield
   Tigard, OR 97224
   US

   Domain Name: STOPMYSPAM.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      Proctor, Robert  (RP4456)  videofactory@MSN.COM
      503524-7530 (FAX) 503524-7530
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Adlersparre, Erik  (EA48)  erik@NETPIK.COM
      250.475.2311
   Billing Contact:
      Proctor, Robert  (RP4456)  videofactory@MSN.COM
      503524-7530 (FAX) 503524-7530

   Record last updated on 08-May-98.
   Record created on 08-May-98.
   Database last updated on 25-Jul-98 04:18:21 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS4.NETPIK.COM               209.52.182.122
   NS2.INETWAVE.COM             209.52.182.72

I want to see who owns this netblock so I can get this domain removed.

>whois -h whois.arin.net 209.52.184.0
BC TEL Advanced Communications (NETBLK-BCTEL-207-BLK3) BCTEL-207-BLK3
                                                   209.52.0.0 - 209.53.127.255
Top Choice Systems (NETBLK-TOPCHOICE1-CA) TOPCHOICE1-CA
                                                 209.52.182.0 - 209.52.186.255

>whois -h whois.arin.net TOPCHOICE1-CA
Top Choice Systems (NETBLK-TOPCHOICE1-CA)
   1815 Blanshard St.
   Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4H9
   Canada

   Netname: TOPCHOICE1-CA
   Netblock: 209.52.182.0 - 209.52.186.255

   Coordinator:
      Adlersparre, John  (JA798-ARIN)  john@NETPIK.COM
      604.477.1812

   Record last updated on 07-Nov-97.
   Database last updated on 24-Jul-98 16:13:44 EDT.

Done!

But finally, I want to dig into the easy remove function:

>whois ibm.com
IBM Corporation (IBM-DOM)                                              IBM.COM
International Business Machines (IBM4-HST) IBM.COM               129.34.139.30

OK, it is a valid domain. That's all I wanted to know.

Got video tapes? Need DVDs? $32 per tape gets it done fast!